Kevin Allen

PHWA President Kevin Allen named Elmer Ferguson winner

Huge congrats to PHWA president Kevin Allen, honored today by the Hockey Hall of Fame as this year’s Elmer Ferguson award winner.

Full details in the press release below from the Hockey Hall of Fame:

TORONTO (June 5, 2014) – Eric Duhatschek, Vice-President, Professional Hockey Writers’ Association, and Chuck Kaiton, President of the NHL Broadcasters’ Association, announced today that KEVIN ALLEN will receive the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award for excellence in hockey journalism and PAT FOLEY will receive the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for outstanding contributions as a hockey broadcaster.

Read More

Bill Masterton

Masterton Nominations

The Masterton is awarded to the player who “best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication,” traits to which almost everyone aspires.

All ballots must have the first, second and third choice for the Masterton winner by the voter. If you simply send only one name, the ballot will be considered spoiled.

The deadline is April 20.

Read More

NHL Awards Ballot Information

A reminder that it’s imperative that our NHL awards ballots are accurate.

To avoid confusion, here’s a list of players who have either moved from forward positions of previous seasons or have been voted on at multiple positions in previous years. In some cases, these players have played multiple positions up front but for voting purposes, we’ve identified the preferred forward designation so votes aren’t split for individual players.

This is by no means a validation or endorsement for any of these players for voting purposes, just a guide to help with accuracy. If there is a player missing from this list you think should be there, contact Kevin Allen, Craig Custance or Mark Spector.

Read More