Panthers, Stars selected as 2024 Dick Dillman Award winners for PR excellence

SUNRISE, Fla. — The Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA) is pleased to announce that the Florida Panthers and Dallas Stars are the 2024 recipients of the Dick Dillman Award, presented annually to honor the excellence of NHL public relations staffs in each conference.
Both the Stars and Panthers have continued their run of distinction in recent years. This marks Florida’s second Dillman Award, and first since 2016, while Dallas receives the recognition for the third time in the last 11 seasons.

Florida PR staff (L-R): Thomas Harding, Julie David, Veronica Lempicki, Adelyn Biedenbach, Chrissy Parente

“Team communication staffs are not just one of the linchpins to storytelling for hockey journalists, but they’re the gateway to earn trust and build relationships within a dressing room. The staffs in Florida and Dallas have shown themselves to be among the class of the league time and again,” PHWA president Frank Seravalli said. “Without their trust and support, it would be near impossible to tell hockey’s stories on a daily basis, and to serve as the conduit between fans and the players and executives they’re hungry to learn more about. Thank you to Adelyn Biedenbach and Joe Calvillo and their teams for setting the bar on how to develop rapport and relationships with the media in 2024.”

The Panthers’ public relations department is led by Adelyn Biedenbach, vice-president of communications, along with director of corporate communications Chrissy Parente, hockey communications manager Thomas Harding, media relations coordinator Veronica Lempicki and communications coordinator Julie David.

“We are honored to receive this recognition from our friends at the PHWA,” Biedenbach said. “Every day, we are grateful to be able to connect our players, staff and executives to the local and national media to tell exciting Panthers stories. We’d like to thank our president of hockey operations and general manager Bill Zito, head coach Paul Maurice and their respective staffs, as well as our players for their incredible cooperation in continuing to grow the game we all love.”

Dallas PR staff (L-R): Emily Schumacher, Joe Calvillo, Dan Stuchal, Kyle Shohara, Rina Zell.

In Dallas, the Stars’ public relations staff is headed by chief communications officer Dan Stuchal and Joe Calvillo, director of communications, along with communications manager Kyle Shohara, communications manager. communications coordinator Rina Zell and communications assistant Emily Schumacher.

“It is an honor to be selected by the PHWA for this award as we recognize the historical significance Dick Dillman had not just on our franchise, but the entire league,” Calvillo said. “We strive to support local and national media members by providing timely access and the best available resources to tell the stories of our team, none of which we could accomplish without the support and collaboration of our players, coaches, hockey operations and executive staff.”

The Dillman Award is presented in honor of the late Minnesota North Stars public relations guru Dick Dillman. The Dillman committee is chaired by PHWA executive vice president Chris Johnston and features a voting panel of senior PHWA members.

Previous Dillman Award winners:
2022-23: Carolina Hurricanes, Edmonton Oilers
2021-22: Philadelphia Flyers, Minnesota Wild
2020-21: Edmonton Oilers, Minnesota Wild, Carolina Hurricanes, Pittsburgh Penguins
2019-20: Carolina Hurricanes, Minnesota Wild
2018-19: Tampa Bay Lightning, Calgary Flames
2017-18: Philadelphia Flyers, Dallas Stars
2016-17: Toronto Maple Leafs, Minnesota Wild
2015-16: Florida Panthers, Calgary Flames
2014-15: Philadelphia Flyers, Dallas Stars
2013-14: Boston Bruins, Anaheim Ducks
2012-13: Boston Bruins, Anaheim Ducks
2011-12: Philadelphia Flyers, Nashville Predators
2010-11: Boston Bruins, Chicago Blackhawks
2009-10: Washington Capitals, San Jose Sharks
2008-09: Washington Capitals, San Jose Sharks
2007-08: Washington Capitals, San Jose Sharks
2006-07: Washington Capitals, San Jose Sharks
2005-06: Minnesota Wild