Elmer Ferguson Award

The Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award is awarded annually by the Hockey Hall of Fame in recognition of distinguished members of the hockey writing profession whose words have brought honor to both journalism and the sport.

The inaugural Elmer Ferguson Award class was selected in 1984 when 17 titans of the industry were inducted, including the award’s legendary namesake, who covered the Canadiens for the Montréal Herald and Montréal Star from 1910 until his death in 1972. The process continues each spring when a panel of Professional Hockey Writers Association members select that year’s winner.

Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award media honorees are separate from honored members, but have their plaque displayed alongside them in the Hockey Hall of Fame’s Great Hall.

1984Jacques BeauchampMontréal-Matin / Le Journal de Montréal
1984Jim BurchardNew York World-Telegram
1984Red BurnettToronto Star
1984Dink CarrollMontréal Gazette
1984Jim ColemanSoutham Newspapers
1984Ted DamataChicago Tribune
1984Marcel DesjardinsLa Presse
1984Jack DulmageWindsor Star
1984Milt DunnellToronto Star
1984Elmer FergusonMontréal Herald / Montréal Star
1984Tom FitzgeraldThe Boston Globe
1984Trent FrayneToronto Telegram / The Globe and Mail / Sun
1984Al LaneyNew York Herald Tribune
1984Joe NicholsThe New York Times
1984Basil O’MearaMontréal Star
1984Jim VipondToronto Globe and Mail
1984Lewis WalterDetroit Times
1985Charlie BartonBuffalo Courier-Express
1985Red FisherMontréal Star / Gazette
1985George GrossToronto Telegram / Sun
1985Zotique LespéranceLe Journal de Montréal / La Petit Journal
1985Charles MayerLe Journal de Montréal / La Patrie
1985Andy O’BrienWeekend Magazine
1986Dick JohnstonThe Buffalo News
1986Leo MonahanBoston Daily Record / Record-American/ Boston Herald American
1986Tim MoriartyUPI / Newsday
1987Bill BrennanThe Detroit News
1987Rex MacLeodToronto Globe and Mail/Star
1987Ben OlanNew York Associated Press
1987Francis RosaBoston Globe
1988Jim ProudfootToronto Star
1988Scott YoungToronto Globe and Mail/Telegram
1989Claude LarochelleLe Soleil (Quebec)
1989Frank OrrToronto Star
1990Bertrand RaymondLe Journal de Montréal
1991Hugh DelanoNew York Post
1993Al StrachanGlobe and Mail/Toronto Sun
1995Jack GatecliffSt. Catharines Standard
1997Ken McKenzieThe Hockey News
1998Yvon PedneaultLa Presse/Le Journal de Montréal
1999Russ ConwayThe Eagle-Tribune
2000Jim MathesonEdmonton Journal
2001Eric DuhatschekCalgary Herald / The Globe and Mail / The Athletic
2002Kevin DupontBoston Globe
2003Michael FarberMontreal Gazette / Sports Illustrated
2004Jim KelleyThe Buffalo News
2005Helene ElliottLos Angeles Times
2006Scott MorrisonToronto Sun / Sportsnet
2007Dave FayWashington Times
2008Neil StevensThe Canadian Press
2009Dave MolinariPittsburgh Post-Gazette / DK Pittsburgh Sports
2010Marc de FoyLe Journal de Montréal
2011Terry JonesEdmonton Sun
2012Roy MacGregorThe Globe and Mail / National Post / Ottawa Citizen / Toronto Star / Maclean’s
2013Jay GreenbergPhiladelphia Daily News / Toronto Sun / New York Post
2014Kevin AllenUSA TODAY
2015Bob McKenzieTSN / Toronto Star / The Hockey News
2016Bob VerdiChicago Tribune
2017Cam ColeEdmonton Journal / National Post / Vancouver Sun
2018Larry BrooksNew York Post
2019Frank BrownAssociated Press / New York Daily News
2020Tony GallagherThe Vancouver Province
2018 Elmer Ferguson Award winner Larry Brooks with his plaque.