Frank Seravalli elected as new PHWA president

VANCOUVER — The Professional Hockey Writers Association elected a new executive board at the organization’s annual NHL Draft meeting on Saturday in Vancouver.

Frank Seravalli of TSN was elected as president, succeeding Mark Spector, who served in the role since 2017.

“I would like to thank Mark Spector for his tireless work and dedication to the PHWA,” Seravalli said. “This is a critical juncture for our organization, as we seek to preserve access and our role as independent gatekeeper for the NHL Awards as voters. We will continue to evolve with the changing media landscape as we’ve done since 1967, but that wouldn’t be possible without Mark’s part in helping make the PHWA as organized and engaged as it’s ever been.”

Chris Johnston of Sportsnet was re-elected as executive vice president, while Emily Kaplan of was elected to replace Seravalli also as executive vice president. The remainder of the executive board was unanimously approved to stay in place.

The PHWA’s executive board is now comprised as follows:

President – Frank Seravalli, TSN
Executive Vice President – Chris Johnston, Sportsnet
Executive Vice President – Emily Kaplan,
Treasurer – Sarah McLellan, Minneapolis Star Tribune
Registrar – Kevin McGran, Toronto Star
Secretary – Kevin Allen, USA Today
Eastern Conference Representative – Rob Rossi, The Athletic
Western Conference Representative – Michael Russo, The Athletic​