2022 Hockey Hall of Fame
Meda Award Recipients Announced

TORONTO (June 14, 2022) ­– Frank Seravalli, President of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association, and Chuck Kaiton, President of the NHL Broadcasters’ Association, announced today that Al Morganti will receive the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award for excellence in hockey journalism, and Bill Clement will receive the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for outstanding contributions as a hockey broadcaster.

A graduate of the Boston University College of Communication, Al Morganti began his journalism career at the Boston Globe. His original voice and passion for hockey led to beat writer jobs at the Atlanta Constitution, covering the Flames, and the Philadelphia Inquirer, covering the Flyers. Currently a co-host on the WIP Sports Radio morning show in Philadelphia, Morganti also provides pre and post-game analysis for NBC Sports in Philadelphia and has covered international sporting events around the world.

“The Hockey Hall of Fame has a long history of recognizing players who were dominate forces over a concentrated period of time. Think Eric Lindros, Pavel Bure and Cam Neely. That is the level of impact Al Morganti had in hockey writing circles,” Seravalli said. “For a decade and a half, Morganti was a true difference-maker. Philadelphia Flyers’ fans were privileged to read Morganti in the morning in the Inquirer, followed by fellow Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award winner Jay Greenberg in the Daily News in the afternoon. Back and forth they went, toe-to-toe every day for 10-plus years. Morganti was a superstar staring down stringent deadlines with witty and informed copy that had enough ‘bite’ to satisfy the appetite of a hard-nosed and hockey-crazed city.”

After an 11-year NHL career as a player, including two Stanley Cup championships, Bill Clement successfully transitioned into the world of broadcasting. His knowledge of the game and ability to connect with viewers has made him one of the most recognized voices in hockey. The Quebec native has broadcast four Olympics, more than 20 Stanley Cup finals, and has been heard on ESPN, NBC, ABC, TNT, CTV, CBC and Rogers Sportsnet.

“Bill Clement’s long-time consistency, glibness and professional approach to bringing hockey fans in the United States and Canada the nuances of the game make him extremely worthy of this distinction,” said Kaiton. “No color analyst has done more US National broadcasts than Bill (1002), and his 21 years of covering Stanley Cup playoffs are a true credit to the quality of his work.”

Morganti and Clement will receive their awards at the “Hockey Hall of Fame NHL Media Awards Luncheon” in Toronto on Monday, November 14, 2022, and their award plaques will be displayed in the Esso Great Hall at the Hockey Hall of Fame alongside past award recipients.

Recipients of these awards, as selected by their respective associations, are recognized by the Hockey Hall of Fame as “Media Honourees” – a separate distinction from individuals inducted as “Honoured Members.” Honoured Members are selected by the Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

The 2022 Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Weekend begins on Friday, November 11, 2022, culminating with the Induction Celebration on Monday, November 14, 2022. This year’s inductees will be announced live on TSN on Monday, June 27, 2022.